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3010  IN-SERVICE TRAINING REQUIREMENTS 
 
 POLICY  
 

The purpose of In-Service training is to provide Utah law enforcement officers 
with the opportunity to obtain the knowledge and skills necessary to perform their 
duties in a professional and skillful manner. To this end, and to assist Utah law 
enforcement officers in satisfying the requirements of Utah Code Ann. § 53-6-
202, 53-13-103 (4) (b), 53-13-104 (4) (b) and 53-13-105 (4) (b), Utah Peace 
Officer Standards and Training will facilitate an In-Service training program that 
addresses the needs of the Utah law enforcement community.  

PROCEDURE 

1. STATUTORY 40 HOUR TRAINING REQUIREMENT  
 

Utah Code Ann. § 53-6-202 (4)(a) requires all peace officers to complete 
“annual certified training of not less than 40 hours as the [POST] director, with 
the advice and consent of the [POST] Council, directs”; All law enforcement 
agencies seeking to have In-Service credit granted should adhere to the 
standards and procedures established by POST and the POST Council.  

 
2. STATUTORY 20 HOUR TRAINING REQUIREMENT (for Dispatchers)  
 

Utah Code Ann. § 53-6-306 (3) (a) requires “A certified dispatcher shall 
complete annual training approved by the director of 20 hours or more.” All 
law enforcement agencies seeking to have In-Service credit granted should 
adhere to the standards and procedures established by POST and the POST 
Council.  

 
3. AGENCY TO MAINTAIN TRAINING RECORDS  
 

The chief administrative officer of an agency employing peace officers or 
dispatchers is responsible for the recording of all training obtained by their 
peace officers or dispatchers. The record should be accurate and available in 
the event of an audit or subpoena of training records. This record should 
contain the following: 



 
a. The subject or topic instructed 

 
b. The number of classroom or field hours 

 
c. The location and date of the training 

 
d. The name of the instructor 

 
4. REPORTING TRAINING: AGENCY RESPONSIBILITY  
 
 At the conclusion of each training year (July 1 -June 30), agencies employing 

peace officers or dispatchers are required to report to POST the number of 
training hours received by each officer or dispatcher employed by that agency 
at any time during the training year regardless of current employment status. 
This report is due to POST by July 31st and must be submitted electronically.  

 
5. VIOLATION OF STATUTORY TRAINING REQUIREMENT: ORDER OF 

SUSPENSION  
 

On July 31st, The Division of Peace Officer Standards and Training will 
suspend the peace officer powers of any active peace officer who fails to 
receive and report 40-hours of approved training during the previous training 
year. Utah Code Ann. § 53-6-202(4). The officer, and the officer’s employing 
agency, will be notified by letter of this action. This sanction will remain in 
effect until the deficient training is completed and reported to POST. POST 
will notify the officer and employing agency when the officer’s peace officer 
powers have been reinstated.  
 
Suspended officers who continue to perform the duties and functions of a 
peace officer will be in violation of Utah Code Ann. § 53-6-202(4) and will be 
subject to the penalties set forth in Utah Administrative Code, Rule 728-411.  
 
The peace officer certification of any officer who remains on suspension for 
18 consecutive months or more will be designated as inactive in accordance 
with Utah Code Ann. § 53-6-208. An officer whose certification is classified as 
inactive must complete the reactivation process outlined in Utah 
Administrative Code, Rule 728-407and POST policy 3210-3260 in order to 
have their peace officer certification reinstated. 
 
If the officer fails to make up the deficient training by October 1, the officer’s 
name will be reported to Utah Retirement Systems (URS) for determination 
by URS how the deficient hours will affect peace officer retirement credit.  
Deficient hours reported to POST after October 1 will only be used to 
reinstate peace officer status and will not be reported to URS.  
 



Training received by a suspended officer in a new training year will be 
credited to the previous (deficient) training year until the deficiency is made 
up. Training used to clear up an old deficiency cannot be credited to the new 
training year. (The same training cannot be counted twice.)  
 
 
 

6. AUTHORIZED TRAINING FOR POST IN‐SERVICE CREDIT  
 

All training offered by POST is authorized for POST In-Service credit. The 
authority and responsibility for accepting other forms of training belongs to the 
chief administrative officer of each law enforcement agency. If the chief 
administrative officer approves the training, POST will accept that training for 
credit to satisfy the 40-hour training requirement. However, the chief 
administrative officer accepts the responsibility and liability for course content 
and instructor qualification.  
 

Note: The following are examples of training possible for In-Service 
credit. The Chief Administrative Officer of the agency is responsible 
for determining if the training is acceptable to meet the statutory 
requirements set forth in Utah Code Ann. § 53-6-202.  

 
a. BASIC TRAINING  

Training received during the completion of a Basic Training Session 
can be credited towards the In-Service training requirement. 
 

b. CREDIT FOR COLLEGE COURSES  
One hour credit for each class hour attended at an accredited college or 
university will be granted for attendance in any college course that is 
required to earn a degree. The officer should include a copy of the college 
transcript in their agency training file as proof of successful completion of 
the course.  
 

c. CORRESPONDENCE COURSES  
Correspondence courses may be approved for In-Service credit. Prior 
approval should be received from the officer’s chief administrative officer 
who will determine the number of credit hours the course is worth.  
 

d. COMPUTER AND WEB-BASED COURSES  
Computer and web-based courses may be approved for In-Service credit. 
Prior approval should be received from the officer’s chief administrative 
officer who will determine the number of credit hours the course is worth. 
Computer and web-based courses should be accompanied by written 
course outlines and lesson plans, and should include a testing component. 
No program shall be advertised as “POST-approved or accredited” without 
specific written authorization from POST.  



 
e. VIDEO TAPES/AUDIOVISUAL PRESENTATIONS  

In-Service credit may be granted for viewing law enforcement or position 
related audiovisual presentations (i.e., films, videotapes, satellite 
programming, etc.), as long as the training includes a structured lecture or 
classroom discussion regarding the viewed materials.  
 

f. IN-SERVICE CREDIT FOR INSTRUCTORS  
Training credit may be granted to POST certified instructors on an hour-
for-hour basis; an equivalent amount of credit may be claimed for 
preparation time.  
 

Example:  A two hour class is worth four hours of In-Service credit: 
two hours of instruction plus two hours of preparation.  

 
In-Service credit for instructor time can be claimed by the instructor once 
each year for each course instructed. No more than eight hours of 
preparation time may be claimed per year.  
 

g. CREDIT FOR STUDY FOR PROMOTIONAL EXAMS  
An agency’s chief administrative officer may grant up to five hours of In-
Service training credit to officers who have studied for, and passed, a 
promotional examination. Before awarding credit, the agency administrator 
should ensure that:  
 

i. The study material was not limited to the department's policy and 
procedure manual.  

 
ii. Study aids should consist of textbooks that deal with subjects such 

as Managerial Techniques, Supervisory Skills, Criminal 
Investigation, and other law enforcement skills.  

 
iii. The officer PASSED the examination.  

 
iv. The officer need not be promoted to receive training credit.  

 
h. CREDIT FOR REGULARLY SCHEDULED MEETINGS AND 

CONFERENCES  
Monthly, quarterly, or other regularly scheduled meetings or conferences 
will not be granted In-Service credit unless it can be specifically 
demonstrated the session is devoted to training and not for the purpose of 
exchanging information (i.e. detective meetings, intelligence briefings, 
etc.).  
 

i. CREDIT FOR PHYSICAL FITNESS TRAINING An officer can claim up to 
five hours of In‐Service training credit per year for participation in an 



agency physical training program.  
 
7. WAIVER OF TRAINING REQUIREMENTS  
 
 All peace officers must obtain 40 hours of training annually, however, under 

the circumstance listed below a peace officer may request a waiver for a 
portion of the annual in-service training requirement. Any waiver of the annual 
in-service training request must be made in writing to the POST Director prior 
to the end of the training year (July 1). If an officer does not submit a waiver 
of annual in-service training request, they must receive and report 40 hours of 
training or be subject to suspension in accordance with policy 3010(5) above. 

 
a.  PARTIAL YEAR EMPLOYMENT WAIVER  

A full 40 hours of In-Service training is required only if an officer is 
employed for the entire training year. Officers, who are employed after the 
start of the reporting period, (July 1), need only to obtain a prorated 
number of training hours. Therefore, an officer should obtain 3.5 hours for 
each month employed during the reporting year. (Example: An officer 
hired in January should obtain 21 hours of In-Service training for that 
training year.)  

  
b. LONG TERM DISABILITY, MEDICAL LEAVE, OR RESTRICTED DUTY  

A full 40 hours of In-Service training is required regardless of duty status. 
To obtain a waiver of the training requirement, the officer and certifying 
agency must provide a letter from a physician stating that participation in 
any type of training including watching videotapes or computer based 
courses would be detrimental to the officer’s health. Those that are 
granted a waiver will be on a prorated basis for the time defined in the 
physician’s letter of inactivity.  
 

8.  MILITARY LEAVE  
 

Officers who are actively deployed in military service need only to obtain a 
prorated number of training hours. Therefore, an officer should obtain 3.5 
hours for each month not deployed during the reporting year. (Example: An 
officer deployed July to December should obtain 21 hours of In-Service 
training for that training year.) To obtain a waiver of training hours for military 
leave, a copy of the officer’s orders for active duty must be submitted to 
POST.  
 

Note:  
• An officer who is not employed in law enforcement at the 

end of the training year, and who does not intend to 
maintain a certifiable status, need not report training 
hours for the year in which their employment ended.  
 



• An officer who is not actively engaged in law enforcement 
for 18 consecutive months or more must complete the 
reactivation process in order to become certifiable (see 
POST policy 3210-3260).  

 
 

• An officer who is not actively engaged in law enforcement for a 
period of time less than 18 consecutive months will be required to 
make up any annual training deficiency for the period of time they 
were employed during the previous year. 

 


