Waiver / Reactivation Process
Utah law provides that the “Basic Training” requirement of Peace Officer certification may be waived by the Director of POST if the applicant has successfully completed a comparable Peace Officer Basic Training program or a training program that, in the Director’s judgment, is equivalent to the program required for certification in Utah. Waiver applicants will be required to furnish POST with a copy of their basic training curriculum and proof of successful completion of the program.
WAIVER applies to a person who has completed a peace officer basic training program, other than a program administered by Utah POST, and wants Utah POST to recognize that training and waive the basic training requirement. All or any part of the program may be waived.
REACTIVATION refers to a person who has previously been certified as a peace officer in Utah but has been out of law enforcement for more than eighteen months but less than four years as described in Utah Code 53-6-208(2a) and 53-6-306(2a). The certificate of a peace officer or dispatcher lapses if he has not been actively engaged in performing the duties of a peace officer or dispatcher within the previous four years.
Waiver $75.00 (written exam and physical fitness exam)
Reactivation $75.00 (written exam and physical fitness exam)
Fingerprint Cards $ 15.00
*Waiver or reactivation fee is payable at time of testing. The fee is not applicable if an individual is currently employed by a Utah Law Enforcement agency.
Scheduling Reactivation Exam or Questions?
For scheduling of reactivation and waiver exams or for questions about the application, please call (801) 256-2300 or contact POST at firstname.lastname@example.org.
Application for Training and Certification Information
Click here for information about the POST Application for Training and Certification.