## POST COUNCIL MEETING

January 6, 2022 at 10:00 a.m.

Public Safety Education & Training Center 410 West 9800 South 3<sup>rd</sup> Floor Council Room Sandy, UT 84070

### Agenda

- ♦ Welcome: Vice Chairman Spencer Austin 00:00 01:24
- ❖ Approval of September 30, 2021 and November 4, 2021 Minutes: Vice Chairman Spencer Austin
  01:24 − 01:52
- ❖ Quarterly Reports: Lt. Jaclyn Moore & Lt. Christian Newlin 01:53 − 05:00
- ❖ 2021-2022 Quarter Three Curriculum Update: Marcus Yockey and Lt. Christian Newlin 05:03 − 13:23
  - Special Functions Officer/Law Enforcement Officer
  - Duty to Intervene Discussion
  - Scenario Update
- ❖ Disciplinary Cases: Attorney Andrew Hale 13:23 14:11
  - Tyler Albrecht 14:11 18:59
  - Jerid Barney 18:59 27:42
  - Joseph Carter 27:44 31:24
  - Lee A. Christensen 31:27 33:29
  - Ashlyn Christiansen 33:32 40:53
  - Bryant Davis 40:59 45:14
  - Anthony Gonzalez 45:17 47:10
  - Spencer Holmes 47:12 50:45
  - Christopher Lyon 50:47 54:01
  - Piper Palmer 54:04 57:44
  - Devin Rich 57:46 1:01:11
  - Logan Roseman 1:01:12 1:04:54

- ❖ Drug Policy Discussion: Director Scott Stephenson
  1:04:54 − 1:25:57
- ❖ Physical Fitness Requirements for Waivers/Reactivations with no break in service: Director Scott Stephenson 1:25:57 – 1:35:52
- ❖ First Aid in the Basic Academy: Captain Alex Garcia
  1:35:52 − 1:49:57
- **❖** Schedule Next Meeting: March 31, 2022 1:00pm, St. George area 1:49:57 − 1:51:23
- **Adjourn:** 1:51:30 1:51:45

# POST COUNCIL MEETING

January 6, 2022 at 10:00 a.m.

Public Safety Education & Training Center 410 West 9800 South, 3rd Floor Council Room

### Attendance Roster

#### The following POST Council members were in attendance:

Spencer Austin, Vice Chairman, Representing Utah Attorney General

Colonel Mike Rapich, Superintendent, Utah Highway Patrol

Matthew Checketts, PhD. At Large

John Crowley, UPOA Representative

Chief Allen Swanson, Layton City Police Department

Chief Chad Soffe. Utah Chiefs of Police Association

Sheriff Nathan Curtis, Sevier County Sheriff's Office

Jeanetta Williams, At Large

Travis Knorr, Proxy for Executive Director Brian Nielson, Utah Department of Corrections

Sheriff Jared Rigby, Utah Sheriffs Association

Sheriff Kelly Sparks, Davis County Sheriff's Office

Molly Sween, PhD. Weber State University

Mayor Troy Walker, Incumbent Mayor

Malena Stevens, County Council

#### The following POST Council members were excused:

Chief Wade Carpenter, Chairman, Park City Police Department

#### **POST staff present:**

Scott Stephenson, Director

Alex Garcia, Deputy Director

Andrew Hale, JD, DPS Legal Counsel representing POST, Asst. Attorney General

Richard Jorgensen, JD. DPS Legal Counsel representing POST, Asst. Attorney General

Julie Gomez, Administrative Secretary

Jaclyn Moore, Investigations Bureau Chief

**Dusty Hamlin, Investigations** 

James Timpson, Investigations

Austin O'Bray, Investigations

Chris Fielding, POST Media Producer

Camille Zabriskie, Investigations Technician

John Jacobs, POST Technology and Curriculum (virtual)

Marcus Yockey, POST Curriculum

Christian Newlin, Basic Training Bureau Chief

#### Others present:

Joe Dougherty Ben Winslow

Jerid Barney

Christopher Lyon

Ashlyn Christiansen