## POST COUNCIL MEETING

September 27, 2022 at 9:00 a.m.

Public Safety Education & Training Center 410 West 9800 South 3<sup>rd</sup> Floor Council Room Sandy, UT 84070

## Agenda

- ❖ Welcome: Chairman Wade Carpenter 00:00 − 02:08
- ❖ Approval of June 29, 2022 Minutes: Chairman Wade Carpenter 02:08 − 02:37
- ❖ Quarterly Reports: Lt. Jaclyn Moore & Lt. Christian Newlin 02:37 − 17:46
- **❖** 2022-2023 Quarter Two Curriculum Update: 17:48 − 27:16
  - Special Functions Officer/Law Enforcement Officer: Marcus Yockey
- ❖ Disciplinary Guidelines Discussion: Deputy Director Alex Garcia 27:25 − 30:47
- ❖ Disciplinary Cases: Attorney Michael Gadd 30:47 − 32:02/50:55 − 57:18
  - Sean Corbin 32:10 34:23
  - Robert Kemple 34:24 37:05
  - Shawn Peterson 37:09 39:12
  - Jeremy Wilcox 39:13 46:04/49:59 50:54
  - Tyler Young 46:07 49:58
- ❖ Set Future Date RE: Review POST Division Director: Chairman Wade Carpenter 57:18 − 1:01:06

- ❖ Schedule Next Meeting: November 9, 2022 9:00am, POST HQ 1:01:06 − 1:03:29
- **♦** Adjourn: 1:03:29 − 1:03:38

# POST COUNCIL MEETING

September 27, 2022 at 9:00 a.m.

Public Safety Education & Training Center 410 West 9800 South, 3<sup>rd</sup> Floor Council Room

### **Attendance Roster**

#### The following POST Council members were in attendance:

Chief Wade Carpenter, Chairman, Park City Police Department
Spencer Austin, Vice Chairman, Representing Utah Attorney General
Colonel Mike Rapich, Superintendent, Utah Highway Patrol
Travis Knorr, Proxy for Executive Director Brian Nielson, Utah Department of Corrections
John Crowley, UPOA Representative
Chief Chad Soffe, Utah Chiefs of Police Association
Sheriff Jared Rigby, Utah Sheriffs Association
Sheriff Nathan Curtis, Sevier County Sheriff's Office
Sheriff Kelly Sparks, Davis County Sheriff's Office
Chief Allen Swanson, Layton City Police Department
Molly Sween, PhD. Weber State University
Mayor Troy Walker, Incumbent Mayor
Jeanetta Williams, At Large
Maile Loo, At Large

#### The following POST Council members were absent:

Malena Stevens, County Council

Alex Garcia, Deputy Director

#### **POST staff present:**

Michael Gadd, JD. DPS Legal Counsel representing POST, Asst. Attorney General Richard Jorgensen, JD. DPS Legal Counsel representing POST Council, Asst. Attorney General Julie Gomez, Administrative Secretary Jaclyn Moore, Investigations Bureau Chief Dave Barnett, Investigations James Timpson, Investigations Austin O'Bray, Investigations

Chris Fielding, POST Media Producer Camille Zabriskie, Investigations Technician

Marcus Yockey, POST Curriculum

Christian Newlin, Basic Training Bureau Chief

#### **Others present:**

Cameron Platt

### POST COUNCIL MEETING

September 27, 2022 at 9:00 a.m.

Public Safety Education & Training Center 410 West 9800 South, 3<sup>rd</sup> Floor Council Room Actions and Voting

Approval of June 29, 2022 Minutes: John Crowley: Motion to approve

Kelly Sparks: 2nd

All PC members in attendance were in favor

Mike Rapich: Motion to hold a POST Council meeting in November

Jeanetta Williams: 2nd

All PC members in attendance were in favor

Allen Swanson: Motion to amend POST Council Disciplinary Guidelines

Chad Soffe: 2nd

All PC members in attendance were in favor

#### **Disciplinary Cases:**

Sean Corbin:

**Kelly Sparks: Motion to accept POST recommendation** 

Nathan Curtis: 2<sup>nd</sup>

All PC members in attendance were in favor with the exception of Allen Swanson who recused himself

#### **Robert Kemple**

John Crowley: Motion to table the case until the November meeting

Jeanetta Williams: 2nd

All PC members in attendance were in favor with the exception of Travis Knorr who recused himself

#### **Shawn Peterson:**

**Chad Soffe: Motion to accept POST recommendation** 

Kelly Sparks: 2nd

All PC members in attendance were in favor

Jeremy Wilcox (Atty Cameron Platt addressed the Council on behalf of Jeremy Wilcox)

Mike Rapich: Motion to accept POST recommendation

Spencer Austin: 2<sup>nd</sup>

All PC members in attendance were in favor

**Tyler Young:** 

Jared Rigby: Motion to accept POST recommendation

Spencer Austin: 2<sup>nd</sup>

All PC members in attendance were in favor with the exception of Allen Swanson and Kelly Sparks who

recused themselves