POST COUNCIL MEETING

January 19, 2023 at 10:00 a.m.

Public Safety Education & Training Center 410 West 9800 South 3rd Floor Council Room Sandy, UT 84070

Agenda

- ★ Welcome: Chairman Wade Carpenter
 00:00 00:48
 - ❖ Approval of November 9, 2022 Minutes: Chairman Wade Carpenter 00:48 − 2:05
 - ❖ Quarterly Reports: Lt. Jaclyn Moore & Lt. Christian Newlin 2:05 − 3:54
 - ❖ 2022-2023 Quarter Three Curriculum Update: Marcus Yockey 4:02 − 7:43
 - Special Functions Officer/Law Enforcement Officer
 - ❖ Disciplinary Cases: Attorney Michael Gadd 7:44 − 50:55
 - Joshua Allred 9:19 12:52
 - Keeley Baird 13:05 17:01
 - Mark Biehl 17:13 21:01
 - John Scott Clarke 21:15 29:46
 - Kelli Colunga 29:57 36:10
 - Eric Larson 36:24 40:06
 - Sara Manzanares 40:13 44:45
 - Alexandria Powell 44:56 47:00
 - Matthew Stevenson 47:08 50:55
 - **❖** Kane County and Coconino County Discussion: Rob Van Dyke 50:57 − 1:15:52
 - ❖ Schedule Next Meeting: Thursday, March 16, 2023, POST HQ 2:20:02 − 2:21:07
 - *Adjourn: 2:21:41 2:21:48

 Public Comment Not on the agenda 1:15:52 2:19:57

POST COUNCIL MEETING

January 19, 2023 at 10:00 a.m.

Public Safety Education & Training Center 410 West 9800 South, 3rd Floor Council Room

Attendance Roster

The following POST Council members were in attendance:

Chief Wade Carpenter, Chairman, Park City Police Department Spencer Austin, Vice Chairman, Representing Utah Attorney General Colonel Mike Rapich, Superintendent, Utah Highway Patrol John Crowley, UPOA Representative Chief Allen Swanson, Layton City Police Department Chief Chad Soffe, Utah Chiefs of Police Association

Sheriff Nathan Curtis, Sevier County Sheriff's Office

Jeanetta Williams, At Large

Travis Knorr, Proxy for Executive Director Brian Nielson, Utah Department of Corrections

Sheriff Paul Wimmer, Utah Sheriffs Association

Sheriff Kelly Sparks, Davis County Sheriff's Office

Mayor Troy Walker, Incumbent Mayor

Malena Stevens, County Council

Maile Loo, At Large

The following POST Council members were excused:

Molly Sween, PhD. Weber State University

POST staff present:

Alex Garcia, Deputy Director

Michael Gadd, JD. DPS Legal Counsel representing POST, Asst. Attorney General David Moores Purtzer, JD. DPS Legal Counsel representing POST, Asst. Attorney General Rebecca Waldren, JD. DPS Legal Counsel representing POST, Asst. Attorney General Richard Jorgensen, JD. DPS Legal Counsel representing POST Council, Asst. Attorney General Julie Gomez, Administrative Secretary

Jaclyn Moore, Investigations Bureau Chief

Dave Barnett, Investigations

James Timpson, Investigations

Austin O'Bray, Investigations

Chris Fielding, POST Media Producer

Camille Zabriskie, Investigations Technician

John Jacobs, POST Technology and Curriculum (virtual)

Marcus Yockey, POST Curriculum

Christian Newlin, Basic Training Bureau Chief

Others present:

Dennis M. Gunn Erik Rowland Matt Bocanegra Mike Johnston

Brad Caldwell Brian Rowser Adam Herbest Dave Edmunds Kent Hatch Ryan Hobbs Scott Lewis John Gulberg Jeremy Jones Joshua Allred Mary Williams Celeste Johnson Ilana Raskind Kara Cope Yvonne Banner Rae Duckworth Jared Rigby Neil Mahoney Kurt Hoffman Kordine Nelson Cheryl Karl Travis Trotta **Anthony Manzaneras** Kelly Colunga Sarah Manzaneras Keeley Baird Robert Van Dyke Maile Loo Travis Knorr Jim Gagon Matthew Stevenson Vaughn Hokanson Todd Beagley Darla Gray Doug Gray

POST COUNCIL MEETING

January 19, 2023 at 10:00 a.m.

Public Safety Education & Training Center 410 West 9800 South 3rd Floor Council Room Sandy, UT 84070

Actions and Voting

Approval of November 9, 2022 Minutes: Spencer Austin: Motion to Approve

Jeanetta Williams: 2nd

All PC members in attendance were in favor (Malena Stevens and Troy Walker were not present for vote)

Disciplinary Cases:

Joshua Allred (Allred addressed the Council along with his atty JC Jensen)

Kelly Sparks: Motion to approve POST recommendation

Malena Stevens: 2nd

All PC members in attendance in favor with the exception of Travis Knorr who recused himself

Keeley Baird (Baird addressed the Council)

Allen Swanson: Motion to issue a letter of caution

Kelly Sparks: 2nd

All PC members in attendance in favor with the exception of Michael Rapich who recused himself

Mark Biehl (His atty Jeremy Jones addressed the Council)
Paul Wimmer: Motion to accept POST recommendation

Jeanetta Williams: 2nd

All PC members in attendance in favor

John Scott Clarke (Clarke addressed the Council along with his atty Nathan Evershed)

Chad Soffe: Motion to issue an 18 month suspension

Jeanetta Williams: 2nd

All PC members in attendance in favor with the exception of Allen Swanson who recused himself and Troy

Walker who opposed

Kelli Colunga (Colunga addressed the Council) John Crowley: Motion to issue a letter of caution

Travis Knorr: 2nd

All PC members in attendance in favor with the exception of Michael Rapich who recused himself

Eric Larson

Kelly Sparks: Motion to accept POST recommendation

Nathan Curtis: 2nd

All PC members in attendance in favor

Sara Manzanares (Manzanares addressed the Council)

Allen Swanson: Motion to issue a letter of caution

Troy Walker: 2nd

All PC members in attendance in favor with the exception of Michael Rapich who recused himself

Alexandria Powell

John Crowley: Motion to issue a letter of caution

Spencer Austin: 2nd

All PC members in attendance in favor with the exception of Michael Rapich who recused himself

Matthew Stevenson (Stevenson addressed the Council)

Malena Stevens: Motion to accept POST recommendation

Kelly Sparks: 2nd

All PC members in attendance in favor with the exception of Travis Knorr who recused himself

Kane County and Coconino County Discussion: Rob Van Dyke

Chad Soffe: Motion requiring the out of state law enforcement agency to submit a letter to POST requesting Utah recognition of Arizona certified officers. The letter must include the officer's name, active peace officer certification(s) and date issued, any Brady-Giglio issues and indicate if the officer is in good standing. POST Council will delegate this task to the POST director. POST will report the numbers at the quarterly meetings.

Trov Walker: 2nd

All PC members in attendance in favor

Melana Stevens: Motion to take a five minute break

Meeting resumed at 11:28 am

Public Comments (two minutes each):

Don Hokenson

Cheryl Karl

Ryan Hobbs

Celeste Johnson

Doug Gray

Scott Lewis

Eric Rowland

Mke Johnston

Todd Beagley

Mary Williams

Jeremy Jones

Matt Bocanegra

Brad Caldwell

Dave Edmunds

Darla Gray on behalf of Natl institute of Jail Operations

Dennis Gunn

Brian Rowser

Jim Gaigon

Kurt Hoffman

Neil Mahoney

Ilana Raskind (virtual)

Kara Cope (virtual)

Yvonne Banner (virtual)

Rae Duckworth (virtual)