POST COUNCIL MEETING

March 16, 2023 at 10:00 a.m.

Public Safety Education & Training Center 410 West 9800 South 3rd Floor Council Room Sandy, UT 84070

Agenda

- **♦** Welcome: Chairman Wade Carpenter 00:00 − 00:26
- ♣ Approval of January 19, 2023, January 31, 2023 and March 2, 2023 Minutes: Chairman Wade Carpenter 00:26 – 2:03
- ❖ Yearly Reports: Lt. Jaclyn Moore & Lt. Christian Newlin 2:05 − 8:03

2022-2023 Quarter Four Curriculum Update: Marcus Yockey 25:08 – 38:21

- Special Functions Officer/Law Enforcement Officer
- ★ Legislative Update: Marcus Yockey 8:03 – 25:05
- ❖ Open Meeting Training: Attorney Richard Jorgensen 38:23 − 40:51
- ❖ Disciplinary Cases: Attorney Michael Gadd 40:51 41:03
 - John Beck 41:24 1:04:50
 - Matthew Carlston 1:05:06 1:07:24
 - Kaelyn Goodrich 1:07:25 1:09:39
 - Jared Hughes 1:09:41 1:15:42
 - Jamie Jubeck 1:15:44 1:18:18
 - Justin Larsen 1:18:20 1:24:33
 - Kaitlen Nelson-Caldwell 1:24:38 1:37:01
 - Kenneth Sheridan 1:37:05 1:38:51
 - Michael Vanroosendaal 1:39:14 1:43:50
- ❖ Schedule Next Meeting: 06/27/23 @ 10:00am POST HQ 1:43:50 − 1:45:03
- **Adjourn** 1:45:18 1:45:33

POST COUNCIL MEETING

March 16, 2023 at 10:00 a.m.

Public Safety Education & Training Center 410 West 9800 South, 3rd Floor Council Room

Attendance Roster

The following POST Council members were in attendance:

Chief Wade Carpenter, Chairman, Park City Police Department Spencer Austin, Vice Chairman, Representing Utah Attorney General Colonel Mike Rapich, Superintendent, Utah Highway Patrol

John Crowley, UPOA Representative

Chief Allen Swanson, Layton City Police Department

Chief Chad Soffe, Utah Chiefs of Police Association

Jeanetta Williams, At Large

Travis Knorr, Proxy for Executive Director Brian Nielson, Utah Department of Corrections

Sheriff Paul Wimmer, Utah Sheriffs Association

Malena Stevens, County Council

Maile Loo, At Large

Molly Sween, PhD. Weber State University

The following POST Council members were excused:

Sheriff Nathan Curtis, Sevier County Sheriff's Office Sheriff Kelly Sparks, Davis County Sheriff's Office

Mayor Troy Walker, Incumbent Mayor

POST staff present:

Alex Garcia, Deputy Director

Michael Gadd, JD. DPS Legal Counsel representing POST, Asst. Attorney General

Richard Jorgensen, JD. DPS Legal Counsel representing POST Council, Asst. Attorney General

Julie Gomez, Administrative Secretary

Jaclyn Moore, Investigations Bureau Chief

Dave Barnett, Investigations

James Timpson, Investigations

Austin O'Bray, Investigations

Dan Young, Investigations

Chris Fielding, POST Media Producer

Camille Zabriskie, Investigations Technician

John Jacobs, POST Technology and Curriculum (virtual)

Marcus Yockey, POST Curriculum

Christian Newlin, Basic Training Bureau Chief

Others present:

John Beck

Cameron Platt

Jared Hughes

Nathan Evershed

Justin Larsen

Kaitlen Nelson-Caldwell

Courtney Shaw

POST COUNCIL MEETING

March 16, 2023 at 10:00 a.m.

Public Safety Education & Training Center 410 West 9800 South 3rd Floor Council Room Sandy, UT 84070

Actions and Voting

Approval of January 19, 2023 Minutes: Spencer Austin: Motion to Approve

Malena Stevens: 2nd

All PC members in attendance were in favor (Jeanetta Williams and Chad Soffe had not arrived)

Approval of January 31, 2023 Minutes: Malena Stevens: Motion to Approve

Spencer Austin: 2nd

All PC members in attendance were in favor (Jeanetta Williams and Chad Soffe had not arrived)

Approval of March 2, 2023 Minutes: Allen Swanson: Motion to Approve

Travis Knorr: 2nd

All PC members in attendance were in favor with the exception of Malena Stevens who obstained because she was not at the March 2, 2023 meeting. (Jeanetta Williams and Chad Soffe had not arrived)

SFO Curriculum Update:

John Crowley: Motion to approve the proposed increase of 16 hours to the SFO block

Travis Knorr: 2nd

All PC members in attendance were in favor

LEO Curriculum Update:

Jeanetta Williams: Motion to Approve the proposed increase of 8 hours to the LEO block

Malena Stevens: 2nd

All PC members in attendance were in favor

Disciplinary Cases:

John Beck (addressed the Council along with his atty Cameron Platt)

Mike Rapich: Motion to accept POST recommendation

Molly Sween: 2nd

Chad Soffe: Substitute Motion

Jeanetta Williams: 2nd

All PC members in attendance were in favor

Matthew Carlston

John Crowley: Motion to accept POST recommendation

Maile Loo: 2nd

All PC members in attendance were in favor

Kaelyn Goodrich

Allen Swanson: Motion to accept POST recommendation

Malena Stevens: 2nd

All PC members in attendance in favor

Jared Hughes (addressed the Council along with his atty Nathan Evershed)

Malena Stevens: Motion to accept POST recommendation

Paul Wimmer: 2nd

All PC members in attendance were in favor

Jamie Jubeck (atty Nathan Evershed addressed the Council) John Crowley: Motion to accept POST recommendation

Spencer Austin: 2nd

All PC members in attendance were in favor

Justin Larsen (addressed the Council)

John Crowley: Motion to go into closed session

Malena Stevens: 2nd

All PC members in attendance were in favor

Closed meeting affidavit signed by Chairman Carpenter

Allen Swanson: Motion to return to open meeting

Mike Rapich: 2nd

All PC members in attendance were in favor

Malena Stevens: Motion to accept POST recommendation with additional requirement

Spencer Austin: 2nd

All PC members in attendance were in favor

Kaitlen Nelson-Caldwell (addressed the Council along with her atty Nathan Evershed)

Paul Wimmer: Motion to not accept POST recommendation. A substitute motion was made.

Molly Sween: 2nd

All PC members in attendance were in favor

Kenneth Sheridan

Malena Stevens: Motion to accept POST recommendation

Chad Soffe: 2nd

All PC members in attendance were in favor

Michael Vanroosendaal

Allen Swanson: Motion to accept POST recommendation

Malena Stevens: 2nd

All PC members in attendance were in favor

Schodule next meeting, June 27, 2022 of 10,00 cm of BOST	
Schedule next meeting: June 27, 2023 at 10:00 am at POST	
Spencer Austin: Motion to adjourn Mike Rapich: 2 nd All PC members in attendance were in favor	
Mike Ranich: 2 nd	
All PC mambars in attendance were in fever	
All I C members in attenuance were in favor	

Justin Larsen

CLOSED MEETING AFFIDAVIT