POST COUNCIL MEETING

January 9, 2024 at 10:00 a.m.

Public Safety Education & Training Center 410 West 9800 South 3rd Floor Council Room Sandy, UT 84070

Agenda

♦ Welcome: Chairman Wade Carpenter 00:00 – 00:30

Approval of September 26, 2023 Minutes: Chairman Wade Carpenter 00:30 – 1:06

✤ Quarterly Reports: Sgt. Dave Barnett & Cpt. Christian Newlin 1:07 – 4:54

✤ 2023-2024 Quarter Three Curriculum Update: John Jacobs 4:54-24:54

- Special Functions Officer/Law Enforcement Officer
- Instructor Development
- Safety Protocols
- Job/Task Analysis Update
- Canvas Testing for Basic Training
- New Curriculum Committee Member: John Jacobs 24:54 – 26:04
- Admin. Rule Updates: Attorney Marcus Yockey 26:13 – 29:14

Disciplinary Cases: Attorney Marcus Yockey

- Adam Alfaro 29:34 33:36
- Ronnie Boyd 33:40 36:17
- Jared Chuchran 36:19 40:48
- Tanner Cooley 40:50 43:12
- Kristopher Errett 43:14 47:10
- Tiffany Hall 47:12 49:53
- Brian Jensen 49:55 51:55
- Alisa Osborne 55:45 1:00
- Joseph Richardson 1:00 1:15:05
- Jason Ricks 1:25:36 1:36:25
- Landon Wall 1:36:35 1:38:28

Lawful Permanent Resident Discussion: Director Travis Rees 1:39:12 – 1:44:39

1

POST Basic Training Lieutenant Position Discussion: Director Travis Rees

1:44:40 - 1:46:36

Medical Marijuana and Basic Correctional Officer Discussion: Director Travis Rees
1:46:26 1:52:01

1:46:36 - 1:53:01

16 Hour Annual Training Requirement Discussion: Director Travis Rees

1:53:01 - 2:07:15

- ✤ Schedule Next Meeting: 2:07:15 - 2:09:38
- **♦** Adjourn 2:09:38 2:09:47

POST COUNCIL MEETING

January 9, 2024 at 10:00 a.m.

Public Safety Education & Training Center 410 West 9800 South, 3rd Floor Council Room

Attendance Roster

The following POST Council members were in attendance:

Chief Wade Carpenter, Chairman, Park City Police Department Spencer Austin, Vice Chairman, Representing Utah Attorney General Colonel Mike Rapich, Superintendent, Utah Highway Patrol Jared Garcia, Proxy for Executive Director Brian Redd, Utah Department of Corrections John Crowley, UPOA Representative Chief Allen Swanson, Layton City Police Department Sheriff Paul Wimmer, Utah Sheriffs Association Malena Stevens, County Council Maile Loo, At Large Sheriff Nathan Curtis, Sevier County Sheriff's Office Sheriff Kelly Sparks, Davis County Sheriff's Office Mayor Troy Walker, Incumbent Mayor Jeanetta Williams, At Large

The following POST Council members were excused:

Molly Sween, PhD. Weber State University

POST staff present:

Travis Rees, Director Christian Newlin, Deputy Director Marcus Yockey, DPS Legal Counsel representing POST, Asst. Attorney General Richard Jorgensen, DPS Legal Counsel representing POST Council, Asst. Attorney General David Mooers-Putzer, DPS Legal Counsel representing POST, Asst. Attorney General Julie Gomez. Administrative Secretary Dave Barnett, Investigations James Timpson, Investigations Austin O'Bray, Investigations Dan Young, Investigations Jonathon Boyd, Investigations Chris Fielding, POST Instructional Designer Ryan Fuller, POST Media Producer John Jacobs, POST Technology and Curriculum Chelsi Nielsen, POST Curriculum/Instructional Designer Camille Zabriskie, Investigations Technician

Others present:

Jason Ricks Chief Brian Gwilliam Matt Higley Tiffany Hall Cecile Delozier Joseph Richardson Mike Petro Marianne Richardson

POST COUNCIL MEETING

January 9, 2024 at 10:00 a.m.

Public Safety Education & Training Center 410 West 9800 South 3rd Floor Council Room Sandy, UT 84070

Actions and Voting

Approval of September 26, 2023 Minutes: Spencer Austin: Motion to Approve John Crowley: 2nd All PC members in attendance were in favor

New Curriculum Committee Member: Spencer Austin: Motion for Malena Stevens to be a member of curriculum committee Kelly Sparks: 2nd All PC members in attendance were in favor

Admin. Rule Updates: Nathan Curtis: Motion to accept updates to admin. rules 403 and 409 Troy Walker: 2nd All PC members in attendance were in favor

Disciplinary Cases:

Adam Alfaro Kelly Sparks: Motion to accept POST's recommendation Jeanetta Williams: 2nd Kelly Sparks: Amended motion to accept POST's recommendation starting the date of separation John Crowley: 2nd All PC members in attendance voted in favor

Ronnie Boyd Malena Stevens: Motion to accept POST's recommendation Spencer Austin: 2nd All PC members in attendance voted in favor

Jared Chuchran Malena Stevens: Motion to reject POST's recommendation and instead issue a 2.5 year suspension and be deemed fit for duty by a licensed psychologist before returning to law enforcement. Troy Walker: 2nd All PC members in attendance voted in favor Tanner Cooley Allen Swanson: Motion to accept POST recommendation John Crowley: 2nd All PC members in attendance voted in favor with the exception of Jared Garcia who recused himself

Kristopher Errett Paul Wimmer: Motion to accept POST recommendation Mike Rapich: 2nd All PC members in attendance were in favor

Tiffany Hall (addressed the Council) John Crowley: Motion to accept POST recommendation Malena Stevens: 2nd All PC members in attendance voted in favor with the exception of Kelly Sparks who recused himself

Brian Jensen Malena Stevens: Motion to accept POST recommendation Troy Walker: 2nd All PC members in attendance voted in favor

Teresa Osborn Malena Stevens: Motion to accept POST recommendation Allen Swanson: 2nd All PC members in attendance voted in favor with the exception of Jared Garcia who recused himself

Alisa Osborne (addressed the Council) Malena Stevens: Motioned to go into closed session for mental health discussion Troy Walker: 2nd All PC members in attendance voted in favor Malena Stevens: Motioned to return to open session Troy Walker: 2nd All PC members in attendance voted in favor Kelly Sparks: Motion to accept POST recommendation Mike Rapich: 2nd All PC members in attendance voted in favor

Joseph Richardson (addressed the Council along with his attorney Mike Petro) Allen Swanson: Motion to reject POST recommendation and instead issue a 2.5 year suspension Troy Walker: 2nd All PC members in attendance voted in favor

Jason Ricks (addressed the Council) Malena Stevens: Motion to accept POST recommendation Kelly Sparks: 2nd All PC members in attendance voted in favor with the exception of Mike Rapich and Jared Garcia who recused themselves Landon Wall Malena Stevens: Motion to accept POST recommendation Kelly Sparks: 2nd All PC members in attendance voted in favor

Schedule next meeting: March 21, 2024 at 10:00 am at POST

Alisa Osborne

CLOSED MEETING AFFIDAVIT

STATE OF UTAH) SS. COUNTY OF SALT LAKE I, Wade Carpenter, state the following to be true to the best of my knowledge: I am currently the presiding officer of the POST Council 1. , a public body of the State of Utah. On the 9^{+L} day of January 2024 the above referenced public body 2. voted, by a vote of two-thirds of the members present, to close the meeting of said public body pursuant to Utah Code Ann. § 52-45-204 through 206. 3. I hereby certify that the sole purpose for closing the meeting was to discuss: The character, professional competence, or physical or mental health of an individual; or The deployment of security personnel, devices or systems. I declare, under penalty of perjury, that the above statements are true and correct 4. to the best of my knowledge. EXECUTED this <u>9</u> day of <u>January</u>, <u>2029</u>, in <u>Sandy</u> <u>Salt Lake</u> County, State of Utah. ___City,