

Lieutenant Governor

# Department of Public Safety

JESS L. ANDERSON Commissioner

Peace Officer Standards and Training TRAVIS REES Director

# **MEMORANDUM**

To: Chief Executive Officers of Utah LE Agencies From: Utah Peace Officer Standards and Training (POST)

Date: April 4, 2024

RE: Changes to Required Training and Reporting (HB102)

All,

As many of you are likely aware, the Utah Legislature passed, and the governor signed HB102, which significantly affected Utah Code Ann. § 53-6-202. The statute's language changes several things effective as of May 1, 2024. The purpose of this message is to give guidance to agencies that submit training to POST.

## Major Changes to Statute:

- 1. The responsibility for approving all training (including mandated subject-specific training) shifts back onto the agency's chief executive.
- 2. The training for crisis intervention/mental health, special needs, and sexual assault/abuse categories is no longer annual. These topics must be covered every *three (3) years* starting July 1st, 2024 moving forward rather than every year.
- 3. The minimum time spent for each topic has been rescinded, allowing agencies to spend the amount of time they feel necessary on each topic.

### What Has Not Changed:

- 1. POST will continue to publish the standards for the subject-specific training and modify as needed with input from chiefs, sheriffs, and the POST Council.
- 2. De-escalation and arrest control categories are still required annually. However, the minimum time requirement is rescinded.

#### Submitting Training for FY24 (Due June 30, 2024):

- 1. The annual training requirements for arrest control and de-escalation must be met for this year. However, since the statute has been revised, effective May 1st, POST will rely on agency heads to approve and verify the training.
- 2. Please submit FY24 training as you have for the last two years. The only differences are:
  - a. POST will NOT deny the training for content.

- b. POST will issue certificates of compliance, but only for the 40 hours.
- c. A minimum time on each subject or a combined 16 hours will not be enforced.

#### Submitting Training After July 1, 2024:

- 1. Agency heads and training coordinators must keep track of which officers need the 3-year training and which need the annual training.
- 2. POST will not require approval for subject-specific training after May 1, 2024. Agencies may submit training as they have in years past:
  - a. Use training categories within Acadis to log training.
  - b. Provide details of training provided for potential audit purposes.
  - c. Rely on Acadis reports to track the annual and tri-annual specific requirements.
- 3. Through the Acadis portal, POST will continue to send automated notices to officers if the 40 hours have not been met. These notices will *no longer* be in reference to the annual or tri-annual subject-specific training. Compliance with that training will be the purview of the agency.
- 4. The agency's submission alone will serve as tacit approval by the agency head. POST will not require an affirmative document from the agency head positively stating compliance.

POST wishes to thank the DPS administration, the Utah Chiefs of Police Association, the Utah Sheriffs Association, the Law Enforcement Legislative Committee, and legislative partners for their support on this effort. POST believes this statutory and procedural change will best meet the needs of agencies, the legislature's intent, and the public's expectations.

Please contact POST with other questions or concerns.

Sincerely,

Maj. Travis Rees

Travis Roes

Director

Peace Officer Standards and Training