POST COUNCIL MEETING

March 21, 2024 at 10:00 a.m.

Public Safety Education & Training Center 410 West 9800 South 3rd Floor Council Room Sandy, UT 84070

Agenda

- ❖ Welcome: Vice Chairman Spencer Austin 00:00-00:24
- ❖ Approval of January 9, 2024 Minutes: Vice Chairman Spencer Austin 00:24-00:59
- ❖ Introductions: Director Travis Rees 00:59 − 5:00
- ❖ Yearly Reports: Lt. Jaclyn Moore & Lt. Terry Buck 5:01 − 9:15
- ❖ 2023-2024 Quarter Four Curriculum Update: John Jacobs 9:27 12:22
 - Special Functions Officer/Law Enforcement Officer
 - Instructor Development
- ❖ New Curriculum Committee Member: John Jacobs 12:22 14:36
- ❖ Disciplinary Cases: Attorney Marcus Yockey 14:36 − 1:34:05
 - Jason Abrams 14:36 26:17/1:12:18 1:13:50
 - Brody Brewer 26:20 27:59
 - Aaron Bucheivv28:00 29:06/1:14:33 1:24:28
 - John Gibbons-Beverage 29:07 31:25
 - Arnold Hansen 31:25 37:18
 - Nathan Johnson 37:21 42:10
 - Seyedsherwin Mansourbeigi 1:24:41 1:34:05
 - Jackson Marshall 42:10 45:58
 - Gretchen McNees 46:00 53:03
 - Semisi Moeakiola 53:22 58:03
 - Jake Stallings 58:05 1:00:32
 - Camryn Ward 1:00:33 1:06:34
 - Alexander Wesemann 1:06:36 1:08:46
 - Austin Wiley 1:08:47 1:12:16
- ❖ Legislative Update: Attorney Marcus Yockey 1:34:08 − 1:38:59

- ❖ USU Eastern Dispatcher Satellite Academy Proposal: Director Travis Rees 1:39:00 − 1:42:58
- ❖ POST Instructor Pay Raise: Director Travis Rees 1:42:58 − 1:46:14
- ❖ Schedule Next Meeting: June 27, 2024 @ 10:00am, POST HQ 1:46:14 − 1:46:58
- **♦** Adjourn 1:46:58 − 1:47:16

POST COUNCIL MEETING

March 21, 2024 at 10:00 a.m.

Public Safety Education & Training Center 410 West 9800 South, 3rd Floor Council Room

Attendance Roster

The following POST Council members were in attendance:

Spencer Austin, Vice Chairman, Representing Utah Attorney General Colonel Mike Rapich, Superintendent, Utah Highway Patrol Jared Garcia, Proxy for Executive Director Brian Redd, Utah Department of Corrections John Crowley, UPOA Representative Chief Allen Swanson, Layton City Police Department Sheriff Paul Wimmer, Utah Sheriffs Association Chief Brian Gwilliam, Utah Chiefs of Police Association Maile Loo, At Large

Sheriff Kelly Sparks, Davis County Sheriff's Office

Jeanetta Williams, At Large

Molly Sween, PhD. Weber State University

The following POST Council members were excused:

Chief Wade Carpenter, Chairman, Park City Police Department Mayor Troy Walker, Incumbent Mayor Sheriff Nathan Curtis, Sevier County Sheriff's Office Malena Stevens, County Council

POST staff present:

Travis Rees, Director

Christian Newlin, Deputy Director

Marcus Yockey, DPS Legal Counsel representing POST, Asst. Attorney General

Richard Jorgensen, DPS Legal Counsel representing POST Council, Asst. Attorney General

Julie Gomez, Administrative Secretary

Jaclyn Moore, Investigations

Terry Buck, Basic Training

Dave Barnett, Investigations

James Timpson, Investigations

Austin O'Bray, Investigations

Dan Young, Investigations

Jonathon Boyd, Investigations

Reed Motzkus, Investigations

John Jacobs, POST Technology and Curriculum

Camille Zabriskie, Investigations Technician

Others present:

Cameron Platt JC Jensen Nathan Johnson Camryn Ward Michael Thornook Ryan Arbon

Semisi Moeakiola Jennifer Overman Austin Wiley Gretchen McNees Arnold Hansen Jason Abrams			

POST COUNCIL MEETING

March 21, 2024 at 10:00 a.m.

Public Safety Education & Training Center 410 West 9800 South 3rd Floor Council Room Sandy, UT 84070

Actions and Voting

Approval of January 9, 2024 Minutes: John Crowley: Motion to Approve

Jeanetta Williams: 2nd

All PC members in attendance were in favor

New Curriculum Committee Member:

Jared Garcia: Motion for Allen Swanson to be a member of curriculum committee

John Crowley: 2nd

All PC members in attendance were in favor

Disciplinary Cases:

Jason Abrams (addressed the Council along with his attorney JC Jensen)

Mike Rapich: Motion to reject POST recommendation and instead issue a six-month suspension

Maile Loo: 2nd

All PC members in attendance voted in favor

Brody Brewer

John Crowley: Motion to accept POST recommendation

Jeanetta Williams: 2nd

All PC members in attendance voted in favor

Aaron Buchei (addressed the Council along with his attorney Cameron Platt) Mike Rapich: Motion to go into closed session to discuss mental health matters

Jared Garcia: 2nd

All PC members in attendance voted in favor (see attached closed meeting affidavit)

Allen Swanson: Motion to reject POST recommendation and instead issue a letter of caution

Jeanetta Williams: 2nd

All PC members in attendance voted in favor with the exception of Kelly Sparks who opposed

John Gibbons-Beverage

Allen Swanson: Motion to accept POST recommendation

Brian Gwilliam: 2nd

All PC members in attendance voted in favor

Arnold Hansen (addressed the Council)

Allen Swanson: Motion to accept POST recommendation

Paul Wimmer: 2nd

All PC members in attendance voted in favor with the exception of John Crowley who recused himself

Nathan Johnson (addressed the Council)

Paul Wimmer: Motion to accept POST recommendation

Jeanetta Williams: 2nd

All PC members in attendance voted in favor

Seyedsherwin Mansourbeigi (his attorney Cameron Platt addressed the Council)

Jared Garcia: Motion to accept POST recommendation

Maile Loo: 2nd

John Crowley: Substitute motion to reject POST recommendation and issue a three year suspension

Brian Gwilliam: 2nd

All PC members in attendance voted in favor

Jason Marshall

Kelly Sparks: Motion to accept POST recommendation

Mike Rapich: 2nd

All PC members in attendance voted in favor

Gretchen McNees (addressed the Council along with her attorney Cameron Platt)

Jared Garcia: Motion to accept POST recommendation

John Crowley: 2nd

All PC members in attendance voted in favor

Semisi Moeakiola (addressed the Council)

Allen Swanson: Motion to accept POST recommendation

Kelly Sparks: 2nd

All PC members in attendance voted in favor

Jake Stallings (his attorney JC Jensen addressed the Council)

Kelly Sparks: Motion to accept POST recommendation

Maile Loo: 2nd

All PC members in attendance voted in favor with the exception of Paul Wimmer who recused himself

amryn Ward (addressed the Council along with her attorney Michael Thornock)

Allen Swanson: Motion to reject POST recommendation and instead issue a letter of caution

Paul Wimmer: 2nd

All PC members in attendance voted in favor with the exception of Jared Garcia who recused himself

Alexander Wesemann

Paul Wimmer: Motion to accept POST recommendation

John Crowley: 2nd

All PC members in attendance voted in favor with the exception of Jared Garcia who recused

himself

Austin Wiley (addressed the Council) Brian Gwilliam: Motion to accept POST recommendation Molly Sween: 2nd All PC members in attendance voted in favor with the exception of Jared Garcia who recused himself Schedule next meeting: June 27, 2024 at 10:00 am at POST

Aaron Bucher

CLOSED MEETING AFFIDAVIT

STATE OF UT	TAH) ss.
COUNTY OF	SALT LAKE)
1, <u>S</u> p	nencer Austin, state the following to be true to the best of my
knowledge:	
1.	I am currently the presiding officer of the POST Council
	, a public body of the State of Utah.
2.	On the 21 day of March 2024, the above referenced public body
voted, by a vote	e of two-thirds of the members present, to close the meeting of said public body
pursuant to Uta	th Code Ann. § 52-45-204 through 206.
3.	I hereby certify that the sole purpose for closing the meeting was to discuss:
	X The character, professional competence, or physical or mental health of an
	individual; or
	The deployment of security personnel, devices or systems.
4.	I declare, under penalty of perjury, that the above statements are true and correct
to the best of m	ny knowledge.
EXECU Salt: Z	TED this 2/day of March, 2024, in Sandy City, City, County, State of Utah.
	Spuice Euster