POST COUNCIL MEETING

June 27, 2024 at 10:00 a.m.

Public Safety Education & Training Center 410 West 9800 South 3rd Floor Council Room Sandy, UT 84070

Agenda

- ❖ Welcome: Chairman Wade Carpenter 00:00 00:46
- ❖ Introductions: Director Travis Rees 00:46 − 3:30
- ❖ Approval of March 21, 2024 Minutes: Chairman Wade Carpenter 3:30 − 4:26
- ❖ Quarterly Reports: Lt. Jaclyn Moore & Lt. Terry Buck 4:26 − 7:47
- ❖ 2024-2025 Quarter One Curriculum Update: John Jacobs 7:47 18:03
 - Special Function Officer/Law Enforcement Officer/Correctional Officer
- ❖ Policy Changes: John Jacobs 18:03 20:19
- ❖ Cadet Field Observation Program: Director Travis Rees 20:19 − 25:35
- ❖ Administrative Rule Review: Cpt. Christian Newlin 25:35 27:41
- ❖ Open Meeting Training: Attorney Richard Jorgensen 27:43 34:21
- * Disciplinary Cases: Atty. Blithe Cravens & Atty. Marcus Yockey
 - Dawson Adams 34:30 38:17
 - Jimmie Anderson 38:20 40:33
 - Phillip Averett 40:37 54:07 / 3:32:35 3:44:15
 - Benjamin Barlow 54:20 56:41
 - Daniel Beckstrom 56:42 1:08:48
 - David Bentley 1:08:59 1:21:11
 - Rory Bradley 1:21:19 1:29:10
 - Joshua Buerke 1:29:15 1:39:47

- Dalton Burroughs 1:39:51 1:43:47
- Jeffery Byrd 1:43:53 1:47:20
- Preston Casey 1:47:34 1:50:57
- Michael D'Amico 1:51:31 1:53:49
- B. Gene Gregory 2:11:59 2:14:28
- Kassandra Hoppe-Kelsay 2:14:35 2:18:19
- Ken Keller 2:18:21 2:23:36
- Miles Knapp 2:23:40 2:25:10
- Holli Lepley 2:01:44 2:11:58
- Anthony Lewis 2:25:17 2:26:52
- Kolby Mitchell 2:26:54 2:28:37
- Kasey Morris 2:28:42 2:30:17
- Kendall Ottesen 2:30:26 2:39:19
- Drew Patterson 2:39:45 2:41:29
- Sean Rawlings 2:41:32 2:43:31
- Emerson Rivera-Orellana 2:43:47 2:46:05
- Clayton Smith 1:53:50 2:01:44
- Jon Thompson 2:46:05 2:47:37
- ❖ POST Council Rules: Director Travis Rees 2:47:58 3:32:31
- ❖ Schedule Next Meeting: 09/04/24 @ 10:00am POST HQ 3:44:31 − 3:46:54
- **♦** Adjourn 3:46:54 − 3:47:28

POST COUNCIL MEETING

March 21, 2024 at 10:00 a.m.

Public Safety Education & Training Center 410 West 9800 South, 3rd Floor Council Room

Attendance Roster

The following POST Council members were in attendance:

Chief Wade Carpenter, Chairman, Park City Police Department

Spencer Austin, Vice Chairman, Representing Utah Attorney General

Colonel Mike Rapich, Superintendent, Utah Highway Patrol

Jared Garcia, Proxy for Executive Director Brian Redd, Utah Department of Corrections

John Crowley, UPOA Representative

Chief Allen Swanson, Layton City Police Department

Chief Brian Gwilliam. Utah Chiefs of Police Association

Maile Loo, At Large

Sheriff Kelly Sparks, Davis County Sheriff's Office

Jeanetta Williams, At Large

Molly Sween, PhD. Weber State University

Sheriff Nathan Curtis, Sevier County Sheriff's Office

Malena Stevens, County Council

David Petersen, At Large

Ron Anson, Utah Certified Law Enforcement Officer – non supervisory

The following POST Council members were excused or absent:

Mayor Troy Walker, Incumbent Mayor

Sheriff Paul Wimmer, Utah Sheriffs Association

POST staff present:

Travis Rees. Director

Christian Newlin, Deputy Director

Blithe Cravens, DPS Legal Counsel representing POST, Asst. Attorney General

Marcus Yockey, DPS Legal Counsel representing POST, Asst. Attorney General

Richard Jorgensen, DPS Legal Counsel representing POST Council, Asst. Attorney General

Julie Gomez, Administrative Secretary

Jaclyn Moore, Investigations

Terry Buck, Basic Training

Dave Barnett, Investigations

James Timpson, Investigations

Austin O'Bray, Investigations

Dan Young, Investigations

Jonathon Boyd, Investigations

Reed Motzkus, Investigations

John Jacobs, POST Technology and Curriculum

Camille Zabriskie, Investigations Technician

Chris Fielding, POST Technology and Curriculum

Chelsi Nielsen, POST Curriculum

Katie Colton, POST Curriculum

Others present:

Michael Thornock	
Clayton Smith	
Jessica Smith	
David Bentley	
Cheyenne Bentley	
Kendall Ottesen	
Nate Nelson	
Joshua Buerke	
Jeffrey Byrd	
JC Jensen	
Gene Gregory	
Dan Beckstrom	
Holli Lepley	
Dalton Burrough	
Phillip Averett	
Dawson Adams	
Anastasia Averett	
Christine Duncan	
Rory Bradley	
Sarah Bradley	
Debbie Bradley	
Connor Bradley	
,	