POST COUNCIL MEETING

September 4, 2024 at 10:00 a.m.

Public Safety Education & Training Center 410 West 9800 South 3rd Floor Council Room Sandy, UT 84070

Agenda

- ❖ Welcome: Vice Chairman Spencer Austin 00:00 − 00:26
- ❖ Introductions: Director Travis Rees 00:26 − 3:52
- ❖ Approval of June 27, 2024 Minutes: Vice Chairman Spencer Austin 3:52 − 4:17
- ❖ Quarterly Reports: Lt. Jaclyn Moore & Lt. Terry Buck 4:17 − 6:46
- ❖ 2024-2025 Quarter Two Curriculum Update: John Jacobs 6:46 − 8:32
 - Special Function Officer/Law Enforcement Officer
- ❖ Annual Training Audit Report: John Jacobs 8:32 12:42
- ❖ Annual Training Requirement Category Descriptions Approval: Director Travis Rees 12:42 − 13:50
- ❖ Disciplinary Cases: Atty. Blithe Cravens 13:54 − 1:33:16
 - Troy Arrowsmith 14:14 17:22
 - Brady Barney 17:25 20:08
 - Thomas Caygle 20:08 22:40
 - Michael Christensen 22:42 42:15
 - Austin Christofferson 42:19 44:43
 - Kyle Clark 44:44 47:45
 - Borbor Giahyue 47:49 53:13
 - Matthew Harding 56:17 58:29
 - Gustavo Johnson 58:30 1:01:44
 - Craig Koch 1:01:45 1:04:39
 - Sean Larson 1:04:40 1:06:32
 - Darin Majers 1:06:39 1:09:03
 - Trevett McCanna 1:09:04 1:11:44

- Richard Platt 1:11:46 1:22:28
- Justin Pour 53:13 56:14
- Nicolette Shafia 1:22:31 1:24:29
- Jeffrey Steiner 1:24:29 1:27:05
- Fred Swain 1:27:06 1:30:24
- Cameron Woodcox 1:30:25 1:33:16
- ❖ Guidelines Revision Discussion: Captain Christian Newlin 1:33:38 − 2:15:00
- ❖ HB322 Model Policy: Director Travis Rees 2:15:07 2:18:26
- ❖ Elect New Chair: Director Travis Rees 2:18:58 − 2:29:11/2:32:30 − 2:34:17
- **❖** Schedule Next Meeting: **12/09/24 @10:00am POST HQ** 2:29:11 − 2:30:45
- ❖ Adjourn 2:34:18 2:34:29

POST COUNCIL MEETING

September 4, 2024 at 10:00 a.m.

Public Safety Education & Training Center 410 West 9800 South, 3rd Floor Council Room

Attendance Roster

The following POST Council members were in attendance:

Spencer Austin, Vice Chairman, Representing Utah Attorney General

Colonel Mike Rapich, Superintendent, Utah Highway Patrol

Jared Garcia, Proxy for Executive Director Brian Redd, Utah Department of Corrections

Chief Allen Swanson, Layton City Police Department

Chief Brian Gwilliam, Utah Chiefs of Police Association

Maile Loo, At Large

Sheriff Kelly Sparks, Davis County Sheriff's Office

Sheriff Paul Wimmer, Utah Sheriffs Association

Jeanetta Williams, At Large

Molly Sween, PhD. Weber State University

Malena Stevens, County Council

David Petersen, At Large

Ron Anson, Utah Certified Law Enforcement Officer – non supervisory

Chief Darin Adams, Cedar City Police Department

The following POST Council members were excused or absent:

Mayor Troy Walker, Incumbent Mayor

John Crowley, UPOA Representative

Sheriff Nathan Curtis, Sevier County Sheriff's Office

POST staff present:

Travis Rees. Director

Christian Newlin, Deputy Director

Blithe Cravens, DPS Legal Counsel representing POST, Asst. Attorney General

Marcus Yockey, DPS Legal Counsel representing POST, Asst. Attorney General

Richard Jorgensen, DPS Legal Counsel representing POST Council, Asst. Attorney General

Julie Gomez, Administrative Secretary

Jaclyn Moore, Investigations

Terry Buck, Basic Training

Dave Barnett, Investigations

James Timpson, Investigations

Austin O'Bray, Investigations

Dan Young, Investigations

Jonathon Boyd, Investigations

Reed Motzkus, Investigations

reced Motzkas, myestigations

John Jacobs, POST Technology and Curriculum

Camille Zabriskie, Investigations Technician

Chris Fielding, POST Technology and Curriculum

Chelsi Nielsen, POST Curriculum

Others present:

Richard Platt

Michael Christensen

Kyle Clark Trevett McCanna Cameron Woodcox Justin Pour Borbor Giahyue Michael Christensen Wade Carpenter JC Jensen Jeremy McKenzie Brandon Crowther Darin Bushman		