### **POST COUNCIL MEETING**

March 20, 2025 at 10:00 a.m.

Public Safety Education & Training Center 410 West 9800 South 3<sup>rd</sup> Floor Council Room Sandy, UT 84070

## Agenda

♦ Welcome: Chairman Kelly Sparks 00:00 – 01:19

Approval of December 9, 2024 Minutes: Chairman Kelly Sparks 01:19-01:47

Quarterly & Yearly Reports: Cpt. Christian Newlin & Lt. Terry Buck 01:48 – 06:10

✤ 2024-2025 Quarter Four Curriculum Update: John Jacobs 06:11 – 11:51

Special Functions Officer/Law Enforcement Officer

Disciplinary Cases: Attorney Marcus Yockey 11:51 – 2:54:05

- Joshua Althoff 11:57 16:32
- Brent Butler 16:34 26:18
- Mitchell Cardona 26:20 32:42
- Shaun Comsa 32:48 41:31
- Coree Crump 41:33 46:28
- Craig Dean 46:31 51:21
- Brian Decker 51:27 54:47/1:18:56 1:21:43
- Nolan Freestone 54:88 1:00:23
- Brandon Fullmer 1:00:26 1:09:01
- Kievah Hansen 1:09:05 1:18:44
- Mitchell Harding 1:21:52 1:24:47
- Cole Henson 1:24:50 1:27:27
- Emily Jewett 1:27:30 1:29:46
- Chance Kirkham 1:29:50 1:37:08
- Randy Linke 1:37:13 1:46:05
- Zachary Loveday 1:46:32 1:49:28
- Steven Luke Merkley 1:49:35 1:51:52
- Jason Nordstrom 1:51:56 1:55:41
- Gregory O'Hagan 1:55:49 1:58:55
- Brad Pitkin 1:58:59 2:02:44
- Rebecca Robinson 2:02:52 2:05:09
- Vanessa Scow 2:05:19 2:28:20
- Larry Teuscher 2:28:28 2:32:51/2:33:29 2:34:43

- Garett Tremea 2:32:52 2:33:13/2:34:47 2:38:57
- Marco Yovera 2:39:07 2:53:35
- Review Model Sexual Assault Investigations Policy: Major Travis Rees 2:54:05 – 2:56:16
- Schedule Next Meeting: Major Travis Rees 06/24/25 @ 10:00am POST HQ 2:56:16 - 2:58:48

♣ Adjourn 2:58:50 – 2:58:54

# POST COUNCIL MEETING

### March 20, 2025 at 10:00 a.m.

Public Safety Education & Training Center 410 West 9800 South, 3<sup>rd</sup> Floor Council Room

### Attendance Roster

The following POST Council members were in attendance:

Sheriff Kelly Sparks, Chairman, Davis County Sheriff's Office Chief Allen Swanson, Vice Chairman, Layton City Police Department Stewart Young, Representing Utah Attorney General Major Jeff Nigbur, Proxy for Colonel Mike Rapich, Superintendent, Utah Highway Patrol Jared Garcia, Executive Director, Utah Department of Corrections Chief Brian Gwilliam, Utah Chiefs of Police Association Maile Loo, At Large Sheriff Paul Wimmer, Utah Sheriffs Association Jeanetta Williams, At Large Chief Darin Adams, Cedar City Police Department John Crowley, UPOA Representative Mayor Troy Walker, Incumbent Mayor (attended electronically)

### The following POST Council members were excused or absent:

Molly Sween, PhD. Weber State University Sheriff Nathan Curtis, Sevier County Sheriff's Office Chief Brian Gwilliam, Utah Chiefs of Police Association

#### POST staff present:

Travis Rees, Director Christian Newlin, Deputy Director Marcus Yockey, DPS Legal Counsel representing POST, Asst. Attorney General Richard Jorgensen, DPS Legal Counsel representing POST Council, Asst. Attorney General Julie Gomez, Administrative Secretary Terry Buck, Basic Training **Dave Barnett**, Investigations James Timpson, Investigations Austin O'Bray, Investigations Dan Young, Investigations Jonathon Boyd, Investigations Reed Motzkus, Investigations John Jacobs, POST Technology and Curriculum Camille Zabriskie, Investigations Technician Chris Fielding, POST Technology and Curriculum Chelsi Nielsen, POST Curriculum Katie Colton, POST Curriculum

#### Others present:

Chief Lance Haight Larry Teuscher

Jeremy Dias Evy Kittredge Jason Nordstrom Marco Yovera Greg Skordas Randy Linke Kelli Linke Garett Tremea **Bailey Tremea** Mitchell Cardona Craig Dean Jasmine Loveless Joshua Althoff JC Jensen Jason Sweat Brian Decker Kievah Hansen Chance Kirkham David Peterson Zachary Loveday Josh Gard Brent Butler Sheriff Arbon Nolan Freestone Shaun Comsa Brandon Fullmer Coree Crump Emily Jewett Allen Jewett Brad Pitkin Vanessa Scow Scott Lauritzen Gregory O'Hagan