## POST COUNCIL MEETING

June 24, 2025 at 10:00 a.m.

Public Safety Education & Training Center 410 West 9800 South 3<sup>rd</sup> Floor Council Room Sandy, UT 84070

### Agenda

- ❖ Welcome: Chairman Kelly Sparks
- ❖ Approval of March 20, 2025 Minutes: Chairman Kelly Sparks
- ❖ Introductions: Director Travis Rees
- ❖ Quarterly Reports: Cpt. Christian Newlin & Lt. Terry Buck
- ❖ 2025-2026 Quarter One Curriculum Update: John Jacobs
  - Special Function Officer/Law Enforcement Officer/Correctional Officer
- ❖ Curriculum Committee: John Jacobs
- Open Meeting Training: Attorney Richard Jorgensen
- Guidelines Revisions: Attorney Marcus Yockey
- ❖ Disciplinary Cases: Attorney Marcus Yockey
  - Martha Alejandre
  - Joel Armendariz
  - Justin Bassett
  - Mark Bettencourt
  - Jared Cardon
  - Thomas Curry
  - Aaron Hargrove
  - Kevin Harmon
  - Jace Hutchings
  - Max Latu
  - Kyla Lefler

- Bradley LundSantiago PerezChad Soffe
- Gordon Swift
- Kenneth Watson
- Daniel Willingham
- ❖ Schedule Next Meeting: 09/16/25 @ 10:00am POST HQ
- **❖** Adjourn

# POST COUNCIL MEETING

June 24, 2025 at 10:00 a.m.

Public Safety Education & Training Center 410 West 9800 South, 3<sup>rd</sup> Floor Council Room

### Attendance Roster

#### The following POST Council members were in attendance:

Sheriff Kelly Sparks, Chairman, Davis County Sheriff's Office

Chief Allen Swanson, Vice Chairman, Layton City Police Department

Stewart Young, Representing Utah Attorney General

Colonel Mike Rapich, Superintendent, Utah Highway Patrol

Spencer Turley, Proxy for Jared Garcia, Executive Director, Utah Department of Corrections

Chief Brian Gwilliam, Utah Chiefs of Police Association

Maile Loo, At Large

Sheriff Paul Wimmer, Utah Sheriffs Association

Jeanetta Williams, At Large

Chief Darin Adams, Cedar City Police Department

John Crowley, UPOA Representative

Molly Sween, PhD. Weber State University

Chief Brian Gwilliam, Utah Chiefs of Police Association

#### The following POST Council members were excused or absent:

Sheriff Nathan Curtis, Sevier County Sheriff's Office

Mayor Troy Walker, Incumbent Mayor

#### **POST staff present:**

Travis Rees. Director

Christian Newlin, Deputy Director

Marcus Yockey, DPS Legal Counsel representing POST, Asst. Attorney General

Richard Jorgensen, DPS Legal Counsel representing POST Council, Asst. Attorney General

Keenan Price, DPS Legal Counsel representing POST, Asst. Attorney General

Julie Gomez, Administrative Secretary

Terry Buck, Basic Training

Dave Barnett, Investigations

James Timpson, Investigations

Austin O'Bray, Investigations

Dan Young, Investigations

Jonathon Boyd, Investigations

Reed Motzkus, Investigations

John Jacobs, POST Technology and Curriculum

Camille Zabriskie, Investigations Technician

Chelsi Nielsen, POST Curriculum

Katie Colton, POST Curriculum

#### Others present:

Max Latu

Bruce Champagne

