Utah law provides that the “Basic Training” requirement for peace officer or dispatcher certification may be waived by the Director of POST if the applicant has successfully completed a comparable training program that, in the Director’s judgment, is equivalent to the program required for certification in Utah. Waiver applicants will be required to furnish POST with a copy of their basic training curriculum and proof of successful completion of the program.
WAIVER refers to a person who has completed a peace officer or dispatcher basic training program other than the training program prescribed by Utah POST and wants Utah POST to recognize that training and waive the basic training requirement. All or any part of the training program may be waived.
REACTIVATION refers to a person who has been previously certified as a peace officer or dispatcher in Utah, but whose certification has become inactive because the individual has not been actively engaged in performing the duties of a sworn and certified peace officer, or dispatcher, for more than eighteen months but less than four years as described in Utah Code 53-6-208 and 53-6-306.
The certificate of a peace officer or dispatcher lapses if the peace officer or dispatcher has not been actively engaged in performing the duties of a peace officer or dispatcher within the previous four years. A peace officer or dispatcher whose certification has lapsed is not eligible for reactivation.
Waiver or Reactivation Steps
Either a waiver applicant or a reactivation applicant, the steps are the same. You will first need to (1) complete an application for certification, (2) have the application approved, (3) pass a knowledge based exam, and (4) pass a physical fitness test.
Depending on your certification you are requesting to waive or recertify, the timed knowledge exam is 100 to 160 questions. The Utah State online code book is allowed during the exam but no other study material. To view the current curriculum for study click here.
The exam is proctored monthly at the Sandy, Utah campus. Alternative testing locations for the written exam are possible at either satellite academy locations around the State of Utah, or at authorized testing centers in other states. It is the responsibility of the applicant to make alternative testing arrangements and pay any applicable fees that may be incurred by the testing center. Contact Utah POST for more information on the alternative testing option.
Physical Skills Exam
The physical fitness exam is administered monthly at the Sandy, Utah campus. No alternative location is permitted. Click here for information on the exam.
Waiver (written exam) and P.T. $75.00
Reactivation (written exam) and P.T. $75.00
Fingerprint Cards $ 15.00
*Waiver fee is payable at time of testing. The fee is not applicable if an individual is currently employed by a Utah Law Enforcement agency.
Scheduling Reactivation Exam or Questions?
To schedule reactivation and waiver exams or for questions about the application process, please email POST at firstname.lastname@example.org.
Application for Training and Certification Information
Click here for information about the POST Application for Training and Certification.
POST Waiver & Reactivation Policy Information
Click here for the POST Waiver & Reactivation Policy.
Law Enforcement Officer (LEO) Waiver/Reactivation Physical Fitness Requirements
Click here for the LEO Waiver/Reactivation Physical Fitness Requirements